Beautiful Strangers

As my loyal blog follower, you have surely noticed my works’ subject matter has shifted from places to people. This shift has not been easy. I strongly dislike working from photographs, but cannot afford to hire private models. So many of my people paintings have been painted secretly, on trains, at open mics, and in crowded bowling allies.

If I perceive the stranger depicted isn’t paying attention to me (the weirdo with her paints out in public), I will create one of these quick portraits.  I do not know these women. They do not know me.

Despite not know these anonymous women, I think the portraits capture a lot of personality. The colors chosen show if the stranger is warmly approachable or distantly cold. Their expressions give a glimpse into their inner characters.

I hope to keep painting portraits. My goal is to soon hire a beautiful stranger to model so I may flesh out one of these wet sketch into a completed piece.

1 Comment

  1. ram0ram said,

    March 13, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    dear and divine ….. very nice and beautiful paintings ….so are the colors …and text ….love all.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

