Little Red Riding Hood

I am in the process of copying the works of Janet and Anne Grahame Johnstone. Before I move on to watercolors, I am studying some of their images in pencil. This helps me get a feel for the illustrations. The following image is from Dean’s Book of Fairy Tales, illustrated by Janet and Anne Grahame Johnstone:


Here is my graphite study of the above illustration:


Unfortunately, the two drawings are not the same. The skull is more evident in my copy. Also, the weight distribution is more natural in the original. Over the next few weeks, I hope less of my style shows through when copying their gorgeous depictions.


1 Comment

  1. rochellelynn said,

    July 27, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Excellent depiction. I too am constantly copying the Grahme-Johnstone illustrations in the hopes that some of their style will find it’s way into my own drawings. If you ever decide to do a workshop or a step by step instructional post it or let me know. I find their ability in profiles to be rather amazing, and you did a great job on the profile here.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

