Everybody now!

Join in sketchbook Saturday!

For over a year, I have been posting a drawing from my sketchbook almost every Saturday. This habit helps motivate me to keep a sketchbook. It also encourages understanding of the fact that not every drawing needs to be a masterpiece. I’ve found, as an artist, sometimes there is more of myself in a quick scribble than in a completed painting.

My goal this year is to involve more people in Sketchbook Saturday. If you should decide to participate, please link to your sketch in the comment section below. If you have a Twitter account, label your weekly sketch as #sketchbooksaturday. I will look at everyone’s sketches and retweet a few a week. It is an ambitious New Years resolution, but one I plan to try. Lets make 2010 more artistic than any year before it!

Maybe this will catch on, maybe it won’t. I plan on keeping up the habit either way. It has improved my art and my enjoyment of life.

Today’s sketch is “Parts of a Party”. Ink on paper.

6 Comments

  1. Guenevere said,

    January 2, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    You and your pen, I love it! Perfect sketch right after all the new year parties!

  2. erica said,

    January 2, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    i’m downnn, jen!

    • jenashmen said,

      January 3, 2010 at 7:34 am

      Fantastic! I’ll expect your sketch next weekend then 🙂

  3. Annette said,

    January 5, 2010 at 12:21 am

    I enjoyed looking at your drawings as I scrolled through your blog! Wish I was talented that way!

  4. Maria Ashmen said,

    April 16, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    I do this, not necessarily on saturday but every week i try to draw but I don’t have a scanner, and i just realized how long ago you sent this to me and I must have forgotten to reply but once i have a way of adding sketches to the computer i will, usually i have to wait til i remind myself at school where there are scanners

    • jenashmen said,

      April 17, 2010 at 4:55 am

      I just got a scanner in January. Before then I took pictures of my sketches with a digital camera.


Leave a Reply

