Dee Dun

The D’s are done. Every “D” Facebook friend I have is drawn below.

I’ve decided not to Facebook comment on the drawings, not wishing to influence the reception of the works in any way. This has grown harder as I post more drawings. As these portraits are more about how people respond to them than how they look, with the E’s I will post a few memorable comments from my Facebook contacts.

I expected the responses of others to be interesting. An unexpected result of creating these works is my own emotional reaction. The majority of my Facebook friends are people I have not seen in years: old coworkers, elementary school classmates, friends of the family, ex lovers, distant relatives, high school acquaintances,  and SCAD alumni. There are many friends I’ve let drift away that maybe I should have held on to. Looking through the photographs of these people feels intimate. I know them better after drawing them. Tagging is the hardest part, as it is essentially sending the practical stranger an e-mail with my name on it.

A project that was initially an in depth look at privacy in the age of social networking has brought me to wonder about the nature of a Facebook relationship. As banal as an internet only friendship may be, it is all I have with a lot of people I know. These portaits have brought them closer to me, but has made me no closer to them.

Click to enlarge image.

Facebook friends A, B, and C.

3 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    February 21, 2010 at 2:53 am

    What a fascinating idea! Love it!!

  2. Jessica said,

    February 22, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Great idea! I look forward to you finishing the alphabet.

  3. February 25, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    […] Facebook friends A, B, C, and D. […]


Leave a Reply

