NYC OWS

I’ve just returned from New York city. Already, I miss it.

Up until now, my paintings of the Occupy Wall Street movement have been from photographs. It is not very fulfilling to paint from photographs. I went to New York so I could paint from life. And I painted a lot.

#OWS. Watercolor and ink on paper. 6″ x 7″.

Unframed: $200.00

It was shocking how many people at the demonstration were not protesting. It seemed there were more journalists and people taking pictures then there were occupiers. That was a common theme in New York. New Yorkers seems to prefer recording and observing life more than participating. The following sketch is of the back of a CNN reporter. Her lights were bright, and her cameras never stopped running.

It was tough to get a good painting spot in the hectic, protesting park. There were marches and performance art, reporters and giant puppets. The landscape was ever changing. The people occupying Wall Street were constantly cleaning. They moved tents to scrub the sidewalk. There was a whole crew of people in masks that did nothing but wander the park and sweep. When I was there, the square smelled more like Pine-Sol than a corner of New York.

The last painting I completed of those standing  for the 99% is a little more abstract than my usual watercolors. I wanted to capture the constant motion, the idea that there is something happening here.

What It Is. Watercolor and ink on paper. 6″ x 5.5″.

Unframed: $200.00

Leave a Reply

