A Naked Selfie

Not of me. 

nakedselfie

3 Comments

  1. arawdog1 said,

    January 2, 2014 at 2:17 am

    what’s the purpose or reason for this? I don’t get it.

    • Jennifer Tracy said,

      January 2, 2014 at 2:34 am

      Nudes are a pretty traditional subject matter. I’m not sure I understand the question, but I will try my best to answer.

      Why did she take the photo? Usually a person takes a naked selfie to sexually arose another person. Sometimes people take sexy pictures of themselves just to boost their own confidence. I cannot speak for the woman though, these are just a couple possibilities.

      The reason I decided to paint this portrait is because I found it randomly on the Internet. I don’t know the woman, and she does not know me. A lot like my Facebook series of works, with this painting I am exploring the lack of control a person has over their own pictures in the age of social media. I am highly interested in the life of a photograph after it has been posted to the Internet.

      I am acutely aware that even my own work is used in ways that I neither approve or know of. However, just because an image takes on a life of its own, it does not mean that that life is bad. Control isn’t always as good as we think it is. The anonymous woman in this image will never know this painting exists, but she inspired me to create. She helped make the world more beautiful, even though her intention was simply to take a sexy pic.

      • arawdog1 said,

        January 2, 2014 at 4:40 am

        I’m not educated in many things, and I care not to be the judge of anything, i just was curious of the reason for the post, I can perceive it as being art, which is what it is, but thank you for your response to the question.


Leave a Reply

